Congratulations to the Jr/Sr High School Exhibit Winners!

The Yocum Institute for Arts Education was pleased to host the 2018 Annual Junior and Senior High School Juried Art Exhibit on Sunday. The Opening Reception was held on January 21, 2018 from 2:00 – 4:00 PM with an award ceremony at 2:45 PM.

Each year, the Yocum Institute for Arts Education welcomes aspiring young artists from Berks County to submit their work for a juried exhibit to be held at the Yocum Institute. This provides students with an opportunity to present their original works of art to the public in a professional gallery setting as well as compete for cash prizes and tuition to Yocum Institute classes.

The competition is open to all full-time Junior and Senior High school students that reside in or attend school in Berks County. The original work presented features oil, watercolor, cermaics, mixed media, acrylic paint, sculpture, and 3D art.

The exhibit was judged by David Tanner, the Director for the Center for the Arts at Albright College. At Albright College, Tanner manages activities for the Freedman Gallery and the Wachovia Theatre, and coordinates the arts administration program. In previous positions, he served as the COO of the Burchfield Penney Art Center, Buffalo State College, Buffalo, NY, as the Associate Director for Administration at the Indiana University Art Museum, Bloomington, IN, and as the Executive Director for the Association of Midwest Museums, a professional organization serving eight states throughout the Midwest. Tanner also taught in the Master’s program for museum studies at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. He holds a MPA in museum administration from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, along with three bachelor degrees, in English, history, and paralegal studies.

The Coggins Award was presented to the overall best in show. In addition, both junior and senior high school students were awarded with 1st – 3rd place awards and had the chance to win the Deb and Fred Gurman Award (for the student who takes the most risk) and the Berks Art Alliance Award (merit award).


Place Name School
Jack Coggins Award Michael Strain Governor Mifflin
First Place (Senior High) Christian Scott Wyomissing
Second Place (Senior High) Jade Hahn Exeter
Third Place (Senior High) Claudia Smith Muhlenberg
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Kylie Boltz Governor Mifflin
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Cecilia Clay Oley
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Isabella Garcia Wilson
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Max Hangen Governor Mifflin
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Isabella Hernandez Tulpehocken
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Wyatt Loomis Daniel Boone
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Kassandra Scearce (Two pieces received Honorable Mention) Exeter
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Aimee Schmale Exeter
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Montrachet Soffer Wyomissing
Honorable Mention (Senior High) Diana Snyder Wilson
Berks Art Alliance Award Derek Ulrich Conrad Weiser
Berks Art Alliance Award Priya Jurasinski Tulpehocken
Deb and Fred Gurman Award Abigail Vogel Tulpehocken
First Place (Junior High) Faith Krock Wilson
First Place (Junior High) Faith Krock Wilson
First Place (Junior High) Ailey Albright Wilson
Honorable Mention (Junior High) Bailee Gagnon Tulpehocken
Honorable Mention (Junior High) Ella Kahn Wilson
Honorable Mention (Junior High) Maddy Putt Wilson
Honorable Mention (Junior High) Lily Tollin Wyomissing

The exhibit will run until February 5, 2018.  Featured image by Derek Ulrich.